Eternal and Unseen

By Beth Winze

Right now I’m resting in a bigger promise of the future
Because the present is hard
There is a reason for all of this
I know there is.
God’s told us that to every amount of suffering He provides an abundance of peace

When I still see the clock at 2:34 a.m.
God’s with me
When I get frustrated with my job
God’s with me
When friends leave me
God’s with me
When the future becomes a tangled web of confusion and fear
God’s with me
When I can’t see past the waves of today
God’s with me

God didn’t offer us His gift of salvation as a free pass to skip over all troubles of the world. Each trial and each heartache I experience is another layer God is carving into my heart. It is uncomfortable and painful when God breaks down the old and cuts deeper to make the new, but He’s doing it and I have given Him my heart to do so. Each time a blow from the world seems to render me senseless, its God carving me into something different.

God, here’s my heart
Chisel me as you will
Make me new in you
But keep your promise
And hold me in all of this

“So we do not lose heart. Though our outer self is wasting away, our inner self is being renewed day by day. For this light momentary affliction is preparing for us an eternal weight of glory beyond all comparison, as we look not to the things that are seen but to the things that are unseen. For the things that are seen are transient, but the things that are unseen are eternal.” – 2 Corinthians 4:16-18

One Reply to “Eternal and Unseen”

Leave a Reply

